FULTON COUNTY REENTRY TASK FORCE

Board Established by: County

Description:

The Board of Commissioners, by Resolution (#09-0571, 6/3/09), established the Reentry Task Force to examine ways to pool resources and funding streams to promote lower recidivism, to collect data and best practices in reentry from agencies and organizations, to develop a reentry strategic plan, and to otherwise aid in the development of a Reentry Demonstration Project, pursuant to the provisions of the Second Chance Act.

In April of 2008, President George W. Bush signed the Second Chance Act into law. In March of 2009, President Barack Obama appropriated \$25 million in funding the Act, and requested an additional \$100 million in 2010. The Second Chance Act authorizes funding to government agencies and nonprofit organizations to provide employment assistance, substance abuse treatment, housing, family programming, mentoring, victims support, and other services that can help reduce recidivism and violations of probation and parole. Through this Act, eligible agencies may apply for funding for Demonstration Projects that promote the safe and successful reintegration of individuals who have been incarcerated. In order to apply for funding, governmental applicants must have the support of the governmental unit; evidence of collaboration with state and local agency stakeholders overseeing health, housing, child welfare, education, substance abuse, employment services, victims services, and local law enforcement; and an established reentry task force.

Membership/Appointment:

This Task Force is comprised od Fulton County BOC Chairman John H. Eaves, and the leaders of state, county, and local agencies that possess constitutional responsibility for the Criminal Justice System as it impacts Fulton County. These leaders include the Commissioner of the Georgia Department of Corrections, Director of Parole for the Georgia Board of Pardons & Parole, two Fulton County Superior Court Judges, the Fulton County District Attorney, the Fulton County Sheriff, the Fulton County Juvenile Court Chief Judge, the Fulton County Public Defender, the Fulton County Solicitor General, and the Chiefs of both the Fulton County and Atlanta Police departments.

In addition, the Georgia Commissioner of Labor, Fulton County Commissioner Joan Garner, the County Manager, the Fulton County Deputy Director of Programs for Common Ground, the Director of the Fulton County Department of Human Services, the City of Atlanta Mayor's Office of Weed & Seed, the Fulton County Schools' Superintendent, Atlanta City Councilman C. T. Martin, the Chairman of the State House Judiciary Committee, and the presidents of Metropolitan Atlanta College and Atlanta Technical College make up the remaining members of the Task Force.

Term:

Compensation: NONE Stipend:

Meetings: Quarterly

Contact(s): Office of the Chairman

141 Prvor Street, S.W.

Suite 10032

Atlanta, Georgia 30303

404-613-9810

MEMBER	APPOINTMENT	TERM ENDING
1 Mr. Dick Anderson	Fulton County Manager Nominated By:	

2	Chairman John H. Eaves	Chairman Nominated By:	
3	Vice Chair Joan P. Garner	Fulton County Commissioner Nominated By: Chairman John H. Eaves	